How to allocate time effectively to personal goals

Goal Zero – Allocate time amongst top 5 goals

Allocation is one of those things no one really ever gets right. When done by a central authority small errors magnify into larger ones, think Soviet Russia or China’s Great Leap Forward. In this light allocation should only be done by the individual for the individual. In our context it’s allocating time to personal goals. I’ve made this into Goal Zero, it’s special because it is fundamental. Without it, it is not possible to orient our time preferences to our most efficient use. When our time is not allocated properly we end up spending too much time on trivial and frivolous tasks. Unfortunately I’m guilty of this every now and then, matter of fact the reason (yet again) why this post is a day late was because I spent too much time on okcupid trying to score a date!…if you look at my ranking of goals, scoring a date aka getting a girlfriend is easily at the lower end of my ranking. What this tells me is two things. Either what I really want is to score a date or I simply don’t really want my top 5 goals as much as I thought I would.

This brings me to another point, are the goals which I have written really goals are are they something else, are they to do’s or tasks? What makes a goal a goal??

In my quest to work this fundamental question, my google search has led me to this article on life hacker by Gina Trapani

http://lifehacker.com/#!5057170/why-you-should-risk-dweebhood-with-written-goals

I think Gina nails it on the head –

Setting goals means you’re actively trying to be better… Writing things down makes them happen.

So in way writing about writing how to set goals is my way of actively trying to be better. Because I’ve written my goals, it makes things happen much easier because as Gina puts it –

a goal is only a whim until you articulate it. Written goals make time for big thinking upfront.

My first 3 posts really set the tone for “big thinking upfront” I immediately know where I should be focusing more of my time. But this still hasn’t answered my original question, “What makes a goal a goal?” Another way to answer this is to understand what the pitfalls are in goal setting. On this Denise Corcoran seems to have it right –

http://www.earnandinvestmoney.com/goal-achievement-turbo-charged-style-top-7-pitfalls-of-goal-setting-what-you-must-do-instead-75/

In summary goals need to be quantifiable, precise, have an end date, measurable, aligns with your core values, no unintended consequences, must be stated in present tense and should be achieved with the help of other people because doing it yourself is simply that much harder.

With that in mind, in my next post I am going to refine the goals I have written to make them more action oriented and to filter out the goals from the to do’s.

cheers

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

