Need a web app for personal budgets? check out Pocketsmith

If you have ever tried to use mint but only to find out in disgust it was only made available for US residents, you are in luck… meet pocketsmith.

This is a web app budgeting tool not to dissimilar to mint, although since I’m a non US resident as well, I really can’t compare for you… as far as I can tell, it can do just as good a job as mint but from what I’ve read the interface is easier to use and it has more of a focus as a forecasting tool. Like all good marketing tactics, pocketsmith offers free membership with optional upgrades at a cost. For the simpleton who has no more than a dozen inflows and outflows of money pocketsmith does the job pretty darn well. I can quickly type in my income, subtract my expenses and it can spit out in 6months time how much I can expect to earn with my surplus stashed away.

In a word. Great. I find the calendar interface a really compelling feature that allows me to focus on my budgeting goals. It’s like mentally crossing the days off once you know exactly when you are able to reach your target.

It also allows you to import credit card transactions and it will analyse for you where all your money is going. Not sure if you can download Australian bank statement transactions yet, like all things Australia is a bit slow on the pick up. If the success of mint is anything to go by, I think pocketsmith has a good chance of capturing the non US market.

Check it out… and no I am not getting paid to write this. Just sharing the love on something I think we can all get value from.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Financial Independance, Frugal Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Need a web app for personal budgets? check out Pocketsmith

  1. susan says:

    I had that exact reaction when trying to use Mint in France; I’m going to try pocketsmith. Thanks!

    • 1D says:

      haha you’ve just made the first comment on my blog… I never thought my blog would get any views… amazing… I’m beginning to appreciate the power of blogging. Good to hear you found some useful information.

  2. Hareiana says:

    I use a little known great online personal budgeting web app called Out Of The Dark (OOTD) Budgeting, it offers easy budgeting and expense tracking side by side on one page, some great features like Cash Put-Aside management and the Credit Card Debt Terminator built into my budget, it’s 100% safe because I don’t give out access to my bank accounts or even my personal identity, and it’s unconditionally free.

Leave a Reply

