Why is Japanese Mayo so fucking awesome?!?!

*** update 12.02.12***

Kewpie Mayo is now being stocked by Woolies in Darwin CBD. I found it just the other day. Go to the Asian section and it should be hiding somewhere on the very top shelf, weird product placement, but at least you can get it at Woolies now.

***

I recently went looking for kewpie mayo (Jap Mayo) at the local woolies here in Darwin cdb, but i could not find any… seems like darwinians are missing out on what I believe to be the most superior mayo in the world…big call I know, but it’s not just me.

Google kewpie mayo in the blogosphere and you will soon realise what a hit this mayo is. If you’ve never seen this mayo before, it comes in a funny looking squeeze bottle that has very minimal markings, instead the bottle is wrapped in another plastic package with all the branding.

Kewpie mayonnaise

Kewpie mayo is different, it has a smoother and creamier texture. It’s made with egg yolk rather than whole egg, uses rice wine vinegar rather than normal vinegar and it contains msg. Now the last ingredient might just raise a few suspicious eyebrows, but let’s face it, if you avoid msg you are probably avoiding it because of second hand information. I have yet to come across a clinical study that proves that msg is bad. Anyway it’s a naturally occurring salt that we humans seem so proficient at cultivating. i have no problems in using it or consuming it. If you never have you haven’t lived.

I haven’t gone looking very far for kewpie mayo in Darwin, so I’m hoping someone out there just might know where i can get this stuff in Darwin. If you do drop me a line. cheers

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

