Going to the Tiwi Islands this weekend!

I’ve met quite a few cultured and worldly people since I arrived in Darwin and all of them have told me to go visit Tiwi Island during their footy final and art sale this Sunday. How can I argue, I mean, I did post the best essay to inspire a life of travelling afterall…

So merrily today during a quiet break at work, I called fly tiwi and booked a return ticket for this Sunday. How exciting! I’ve shipped!

The return ticket costs $240, not cheap for half an hour of flying… but what the heck, I’ll never be able to see something like this again and its a chartered flight.

Your probably still wondering what’s all the fuss about Tiwi this Sunday, well, for starters this is the only time where it doesn’t require you to pay for a permit to visit Tiwi.

Secondly, it really is the only annual event they have that draws such a large crowd (estimated to be about 3000). While that might not sound much, it is when your population is only 3000, essentially doubling it up in one day. Tiwi’s are reknown for their one touch footy skills, they also have the highest participation rate where about 900 Tiwis actually play the game.

If you have nothing to do this Sunday and your bum is sitting in Darwin and you have a cool $240 to spare…consider the Tiwi footy final and art sale.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Darwin, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

