Meeting local Darwinians update

As a rejoinder to my previous post on meeting Darwinites, I’ve had great success with the couch surfing community. They are an eclectic bunch and no two are the same. The great thing about couch surfing is that for most of the time the people you meet are actually there to meet people and share in each others cultures. So far I met a Dutch couple working and travelling in their van, a Canadian occupational therapist who is not accredited, but is more qualified then many of her peers, a nutritionist who sets up shop as a one woman band in rural NT, an IT brainiac who left his 150K a year job to pursue his dream of becoming a tour guide, a graduate from Oman who comes from a family of 21 siblings and is the only one to get a western degree, a busker who can play the classical guitar, sing, play the south american flute and who one day dreams to live amongst the indigenous Australia has to offer, a German cellist travelling the world in her gap year to hopefully go back to be a musicologist. The list goes on. Couch surfing works.

Now I’m about to find out if I can meet someone through a dating site. okcupid to be exact. If she reads my blog and decides to come out because of it as well, then I guess I can say meeting people through blogging is also possible too! Fingers crossed.

Will keep readers posted.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Darwin, Meeting people, Misc, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

