another song to add to the sunday mixtape… Asa – Fire on the Mountain

Pronouced Asha. I first heard Asa a few years ago on the single “Jailer”, it was an ok single from a debut artist, but it wasn’t enough for me to dig more deeply about her… boy did I miss out…

Recently I hosted some Frenchies in Darwin and I asked one of them to play their favourite song, One of the lads, Valentin played Fire on the Mountain,  I immediately knew it was Asa but it was the first time I heard the song and I was hooked!

The song and its lyrics are very apt for this day and age. There’s a slightly revolutionary anthem tinge to it, but it has a happy boppy beat to it. There are definite reggae influences and you can’t help but think to yourself she must of grown up in a household full of soulful music.

The song is catchy, only took 2 listens for me, the lyrics are a big part of this song. Give it another few years to stew in the music world and some artist is bound to cover this song. Its very sundayish, but a good piece to play during dinner as a conversation starter… as inevitably someone will ask “Who sings this song?”

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Soul Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

