Make do… part 2

Lucky for me my workplace is quite casual when it comes to attire, No Tie No Problems! I don’t iron my shirts, I just wear a nice expensive looking merino V neck sweater to hide my shirt. I only wear merino because it resists odour, I probably wash my merino clothing every 6 months, the time and money saved from not washing it every week more than offsets the high cost of it. I wear ex-officio underwear, they are expensive but more than offset by the fact that they are more comfortable and will outlast 10 cotton equivalents. My entire underwear collection consists of 3 ex-officio briefs. I wash them in the shower and they are very quick drying.

I leave my hair long and tie it back to a pony tail. I haven’t been to the barbers for nearly 18 months. I don’t use shampoo, just water and a good massage of the scalp, does wonders and leaves your natural oils in tact. I shave without shaving cream, again just water – your face will get use to it. I find the slightly more expensive disposable razor blades will last longer than the cheaper ones, combined with the stropping I can make it last ten times longer as well. Work provides tea and coffee so I never go out of my way to buy it. I’ve learnt to live without sugar, the amazing thing is after a little while you became really sensitive to sweetness. I now find milk a sweet drink. I cook and have big dinners however I prefer small lunches. I’ve found various eateries near work that can serve a healthy lunch meal for around $6. For the amount of time I’ll save as compared to making my own lunch, it’s cheaper to just buy lunch. Because I skip breakfast I tend to snack on fruit throughout the day. I find that I use a thick walled non stick pot to cook my rice, the rice comes out just as good as a conventional rice cooker, I save money because its cheaper to cook the rice with gas and one less appliance in the kitchen. I made all the furniture myself using discarded wood pallets. Every man should have a power saw, tool belt, electric planer and nail gun. With my method you can build all the furniture you need in one weekend.

It takes me 30 minutes to walk to work. This is intentional so I don’t have to join a gym. Instead of a car I have a bike. I found the bike at a dump, I could probably sell it for profit when I need to get rid of it. I find I can get to most places with my bike within a 45 minute ride. Again this is exercise I don’t have to pay the gym for. If I do need a car to get somewhere I rely on friends to give me a lift, this is where it’s important to develop and maintain good friendships.

I look out for credit card promo’s where they give a stash of flyer points if you join. I only applied for one that gave me 10000 points (enough for a one way domestic ticket), I will apply for a citibank platinum to get another 60,000 points, enough for an international return ticket.

Here’s the biggie. If you structure your tax affairs properly you can save a motza, more so than all the things I’ve said previously combined.

Look into it.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Financial Independance, Frugal Living, Minimising Australian tax, Self Help, Wool Based Clothing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

