Frugal heating in Canberra

It’s been averaging minus 3 every night in Canberra for the past few weeks. What’s a frugal brother suppose to do in this unforgiving environment!?!?

…easy…

…just put more clothes on!!!!!

It really is that simple. Why this time honoured frugal tradition is not espoused more by people I will never know. I mean you’d kinda expect the greenies to be pushing for this subsistence stuff and go all nazi about it, but nope… nada… nothing.

I do have an electric oil heater, but so far I have yet to turn it on. Bear in mind that I live in a dilapidated 70’s fibro house. It’s just 2 fibro sheets between me and the elements. Even in this environment there is just simply no need to turn the oil heater on when you wear 3 layers of pants and 4 layers for the top half of your body. The key here are the layers, I tried wearing just a puffy down jacket, but it doesn’t breath as well and you can actually end up being too warm and perspire. Not a good thing.

In terms of material, wool is best. Wool is very good at regulating body warmth and it doesn’t stink. Merino would be a bonus because it’s more comfortable. If you don’t have wool, cotton will do just as good a job. At the moment I’m making use of all my old clothes, clothes I would have given no thought to throwing out. It actually makes me feel quite the conservationist. I estimate I still have enough throw away clothes to last me quite a number of years. As they wear out I will be purchasing wool substitutes.

For sleeping, I just wear it to sleep. If you are used to dressing down for bed, it’s going to be feel a little weird at first, but you get used to it very quickly. I mean what would you rather experience – naked and cold or snug and warm?

If you feel you need more than just clothes, try using a hot water bottle. They are good to sleep with, especially if you place them near the toes. Just remember to wrap the hot water bottle in a towel or you risk getting burned. Another trick is to drink hot beverages. I usually just drink boiled water, I don’t recommend any sugary drinks unless your teeth likes cavities and fillings. Soup is best but not always convenient, so for simplicity just plain old hot water will do.

Now… just think of the money you will save on heating over the winter!

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Frugal Living, Wool Based Clothing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal heating in Canberra

  1. Pingback: Best website for wool clothing! | i finally found the gumption

Leave a Reply

