Frugal Living in Darwin – No need for hot water…

It wasn’t until I moved out of my temporary stay at mantra pandanas (paid for by work) and into my more permanent abode 2 blocks down in Manton St Darwin that I realised there is absolutely no need for a hot water service for residential living.

If you haven’t noticed by now, the water piped into Darwin sits above ground. The water tanks dotted around Darwin sit high in the sky, all that exposure means that the cold water coming out is not really all that cold at all. Fine by me, because since I have moved into my apartment I have simply had no need to turn on the hot water. The water coming out of shower is warm enough to shower in, heck on some days it can get too warm. I wash the laundry with cold water detergent, and rather than washing the dishes in the dish washer I wash all mine by hand and with cold water. If I wasn’t living with other house mates, I’d turn off the hot water service, but since this is not the case, I can only theorize how much I would be saving in electricity bills. I have yet to see a quaterly bill yet, but from what my housemates have advised me already, it does not look pretty – $600 – $700 during the wet season. Much of this is simply the air-conditioning being used all the time. Unfortunately this is a must in Darwin, especially when your unit is right at the top of the building and exposed to the angle of the sun for most of the day, which is basically the orientation of my unit.

Lesson of the story,  if you want to avoid paying for hot water, move up to Darwin and turn off your hot water service. If you want to save on air-conditioning bills, move onto the least sun exposed side of the apartment block, and in a unit that is insulated by other units.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

