Top 5 regrets of the dying…

Whoa.

First read this –

http://inspirationandchai.com/Regrets-of-the-Dying.html

If reading the above article doesn’t get your gumption juices flowing, I don’t know what will. Reading it is akin to imagining the feeling you would get if you could witness your own funeral.

These regrets can be easily reduced if not avoided.

The top 5 regrets being –

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

Start to live like this right now. It takes practice, it’s about honoring your feelings and letting them fully express themselves – whether happy or sad. It makes it easier if you tell yourself I am going to do it anyway even if I make a full out of myself or even if I don’t succeed. It’s also about having a plan. When you know what you want to do in life, start with a plan and plan how you are going to get there, one baby step at a time and remember – Don’t Flinch!

  1. I wish I didn’t work so hard. 

Live your life, don’t just earn a living. Focusing on just earning a living will make you lose focus on the rest of your life. When you are working on your job you are earning a living, when you are working towards your career you are living the life you always wanted. Be conscious of your life’s priorities.  In particularly where you place friends and family in your list of life priorities.

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

Again this is about honoring your feelings and letting them run free. You will not live to regret it if you do. Tell your family and friends how much you appreciated their presence and being. Do not be afraid to send small gifts to those you care around you. Practice the act of giving i.e. giving that is unconditional – you do not expect anything in return.

  1. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

Even well-established close friends need contact every now and then. Absence may make the heart grow fonder but it also causes people to drift apart. Contact those you cherish, whether it be by facebook, email, phone, in person or whatever. Whatever you do don’t became strangers.

  1.  I wish that I had let myself be happier. 

Most people believe that by having things will make them happier, so their thought process begins with wanting to have, therefore I must do in order to have thing that will make me be happy. You should listen to Buddhists instead – they prefer it the other way round. That is, they start off by being happy, when they are in a happy state they naturally do things that will maintain their happiness, and by doing the things because they are happy they will begin to have the all the things they could ever need. Happiness is state of being. Just be.

 

 

  

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 regrets of the dying…

  1. Pingback: How to add 10 years extra to your life | i finally found the gumption

Leave a Reply

