www.stickk.com, great online website to keep track of your goals

This is a pretty cool site for those who need to be reminded of their personal goals. It’s a simple proccess whereby you enter your committment, the amount of money you are willing to put at stake (optional), nominate a referee to keep tabs on your progress and enlist the support of friends and family.

Like all web apps it ties in neatly with facebook and twitter.

I’ve registered and pledged my commitment to write an article a day on this blog for the next 30 days. Again, this harks back to my previous posts about focusing on one goal/task at a time which I have twice attempted and twice failed by breaking the daily schedule of it all. I do not intend to break it again.

I read an interesting article today from Gary North’s site. It was written by a site member. It was a book review on The Procrastination Equation by Piers Steele.

I’ve yet to read it myself but the reviewer imparts a couple of interesting tidbits from reading the book –

  1. Think in terms of benefits not costs. Instead of washing the car, think I am making the car more aerodynamic and thus more fuel efficient. Instead of cleaning the toilet, think of all the brownie points you will get from your next date who puts her ass on this throne. Instead of writing an article a day for 30 days, think about the habit that will form for perpetuity just from this small exercise and the potential to be a great writer.
  2. If the timeframe for a particular goal is long, break it down into smaller and smaller goals. Small enough to sustain a virtuous cycle of goals that can be readily achieved.
  3. To delay impulsiveness, such as distractions, link negative thoughts with them. If TV is the bane of your life and eating away at your productive time, start ranting on about how TV is destroying the soul of the world, or that you become just like the rest of your family couch potatoes…you get my drift. If email, facebook and useless newsletters are the bugbears, start thinking about the forgone cost, assign a cost to it, if you are worth $100 per hours. Getting distracted for a couple of hours will have cost you 200 dollars.

This book has definitely piqued my interest. Will I buy it? Quite possibly. However don’t let that stop you from buying it… do what I say not as I do…

There are also a whole host of other titles of a similar nature such as ‘Sway’ ‘Nudge’ ‘Click’ ‘Tipping Point’ etc. If i ever lay my hands on these books I’ll post a review here.

About 1D

I've been fermenting in Canberra OZ for awhile now... Like all public servants I'm battling the cubicle nation... This blog will share my personal journey in which I am preparing to get out of cubicle jail... Time to be your own architect...
This entry was posted in Blogging, Goals, Time management, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment